A Study in Murder

“This book is a delight!…A Study in Murder has clear echoes of Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and of course, Sherlock Holmes. You will love this book.”
—William Bernhardt, author of The Last Chance Lawyer

“With a breezy style and alluring, low-keyed humor, Hutton crafts a charming mystery with a delightful, irrepressible sleuth.”
—Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author of Never Deny a Duke

A mystery author is charged with murder--and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages--in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.

Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.

Two evenings later, as Lady Amy awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty--until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.

Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation--and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.

Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

Available on:
Genres:
Tags:
Reviews:William Bernhardt, author of The Last Chance Lawyer wrote:

This book is a delight!…A Study in Murder has clear echoes of Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and of course, Sherlock Holmes. You will love this book.

Melike, Goodreads wrote:

There were many turns and twists to the story and it kept me guessing about who the villain was until the end. This is a good and solid cozy mystery that won’t disappoint.

Jerri C., Goodreads wrote:

A Study In Murder has everything I love in a mystery - an independent, smart and colorful main character, supporting characters who are interesting and well-written and touch of romance that enhances rather than overwhelms the storyline.

JoAn, Goodreads wrote:

A smoothly paced plot with a few twists, several suspects and red herrings keep the plot moving forward. Fans of historical cozy mysteries will enjoy this new addition to the genre.

Nicole L., Goodreads wrote:

Unputdownable! A fun and gripping cozy mystery!

I love cozy romance so Callie Hutton's new book 'A Study in Murder' was perfect for me! It had all the elements to hold my interest until the very last chapter, an intelligent and independent heroine, lots of suspense with many twists and turns. A real page turner as we follow Amy, a mystery author who stumbles in her library on her fiancé with a knife in his chess. Since she is now suspected of murder, she will have to begin her own investigation and discover the culprit. Along with her book club friend William, they will embark on a journey of clues that will help find the guilty person. Spending time together, love will be in the air for Amy and William. Ends on a touch of suspense for the following stories in the new series ‘A Victorian Book Club Mystery’!

Vicky, Goodreads wrote:

I would definitely recommend this, not just to those who like historical mysteries, but as a crossover for both genres. The society details were well done as well as the mystery. A nice blend of both leading to a satisfying ending and a nice beginning of a new series.

Kate, Goodreads wrote:

To say that I flew through this book is an understatement. As a huge fan of Murdoch Mysteries and Agatha Christie, I absolutely loved the Victorian setting and colourful cast of characters. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick, light read with a feel good ending and (hopefully) a long series to follow.